Marc, seriously, why are you running for MLA?

Sound like a question you are asking yourself? Don’t worry, many people are asking the same question so you are not alone. What I tell them is this:

I am not really sure. I have had a keen interest in politics at all levels, both local and international for a long time. The first memory that really rings strong, and I know my Campaign Manager, Craig, will remember this one too, was the 1988 Federal Election that saw Stan Wilbee elected under the Progressive Conservative banner here in North Delta. I am not sure what it was about that particular election, or that particular man that got us going, but it did.

For a few years after I graduated high school, I dated a gal that we had gone to school with. After graduation she moved to Ottawa to work as a Page in the House of Commons. As a result, I found myself watching a lot of sessions from the House on that channel way up in the listings. I was also fortunate enough to make a couple of trips to Ottawa in 1992 and 93. Two really notable events from those trips were finally meeting and dining with Stan Wilbee and attending a fundraiser for Kim Campbell. As we all well know, in that 1993 Federal Election, Ms. Campbell and the Progressive Conservatives were soundly defeated maintaining only 2 of their previous 151 seats in the House.

This was really the begining of the fascination for me. Not long after that time, I moved to Southern California for a while to pursue a college baseball dream. It was an amazing experience and I would recommend it to all who have the opportunity. While I was there, the US went through one of their weirdest elections ever in 2000 when George W. Bush defeated Al Gore. This election entrenched the term “hanging chad” in the American mind forever.  From that point on I watched with great interest as US Politics got intensely polarized only to see George W. Bush win again in 2004 where he defeated John Kerry. Throughout all this time, I became what one might call a talk radio junkie. I could not get enough of the political musings. 

During my time in California, I also witnessed history as Democratic Governor Gray Davis became only the second governor in US history to be recalled. Mr. Davis took a lot of flack for the electricity crisis that brought brown outs, rolling black outs, and incredibly expensive electricity to California in 2000 and 2001.  Anyhow, the impending recall election saw the Governator, Arnold Schwarzenegger, take over as Governor of California.

Hopefully that gives you some insight into me, and why I am now beginning my political career running for MLA as the BC Conservative candidate for Delta North.

2 Comments

Filed under General Politics, Personal

2 responses to “Marc, seriously, why are you running for MLA?

  1. Craig J.

    If i recall we wrote a song about Stan Wilbee, to the tune of Stand By Me. We will have to sit down and try to get it down on paper.

  2. marcformla

    Thats right! I had completely forgotten about the song.

    To the Tune of Stand By Me:

    Vote for Staaaan Wilbee
    Yea, vote for Staann Wilbeeeeeeee
    Wont you please, darlin just vote for Stan Wilbee.

Leave a Reply

